Windows 8 Keyboard Shortcuts

I’m the office guinea pig when it comes to new software, I was the first and only miserable wretch that had to endure the sheer agony of running Windows Vista on my machine so I could become familiar with the new OS and educate everyone else. In fact after my initial experience with Vista we held off till Windows 7 came to the rescue and everyone upgraded to that. So when Windows 8 arrived in our download folder at the partner site, I kindly offered my machine up once again for the “greater good”.

I must be honest, I really was not happy and had tried to “volunteer” the new intern, but everyone decided that it would be wiser for me to do as I had with Vista. I hated Windows 8 even before I had it installed on my machine! Well it’s been quite a few months now that I have been using Win8 as my primary OS on my product dev machine, I did leave my Win7 dual boot in case things got too hairy, and the truth is I don’t actually mind Windows 8. All my reservations regarding the Metro screen have not materialised, in fact I only ever see the Metro screen when I boot up, need to search for something or need to play Pinball.

I made an early decision not to install any of the GUI apps that add a START menu since I wanted to get familiar with the vanilla version of Windows 8, this meant that I have had to learn or re-learn many run line commands as well as keyboard shortcuts. There are a multitude of sites out there that already list these, but what kind of technical blogg would this be if I didn’t include my very own list!

Shortcut Action
Win + C Opens the charms
Win + F Opens Search
Win + I Opens the Settings charm
Win + K Opens the Devices charm
Win + Q Search for an Application
Win + W Search for a Setting
Win + X Shows the Admin List bottom left

I think the two most used shortcuts from Windows 7 are Win + E (Windows Explorer) and Win + R (Run command). Win+R allows me to then run applications without needing to further litter my desktop with icons, so MS Word = winword, Excel = excel, Outlook = outlook,  Services = services.msc, SQL command tool = sqlcmd –S.\act7 and finally Powershell ISE = powershell ise….it’]s not rocket science as you can see! LOL

Leave a Reply

